PDA

View Full Version : Let me please introduce myself....

sarettah
04-23-2005, 05:28 PM
I'm a man of no wealth and no taste :yowsa:

Seriously though, I wanted to introduce myself here, in the help area because truth be known, I am probably more newbie on some of this stuff than the folks piping up and saying they are newbie.

I have been doing computer stuff since 1972 (first thing I did was on the internet even :) long before they called it an internet) I woerked with computers for 8 years in the Navy (74-82) and have been making a living as either a computer operator or programmer since then. My main time employment was always in mainstream stuff, but from about 88 through 94 I also helped a friend run "The Dungeon" which was an adult non-commercial bbs.

In 1999 I started working for Overland Data Center doing back end reporting for about 250 adult sites and that is when my eyes were opened to how wide an far the adult net had grown. After a certain company got spanked real hard by the FTC, we had layoffs in July 2001 and I went back to mainstrem programming.

I started looking at adult site building and stuff sometime in late 2001. I went to newbie boards and learned how to build a site and learned some about traffic. I never did learn how to sell though, so while I can slam out a couple of hundred sites a day if I want to, I get extremely extremely poor results from them :( So, this past year or so I backed off from building sites and pushed the programmer side. I have written some handy dandy little apps and generators and such and can pretty much slam out scripts with no probvlems. BUT it has always bothered me that I was never able to master the sale. It has had me feeling like a failure for 3 years.

SO, I am back posting in the webmaster help forum (The equivalent of Oprano's Newbie section) and asking for HELP !!! I need help learning how to sell.